"Back" - an Up Fanfic - #1 in the Muntz Saga

Plunging in - I’m still kind of a newbie here, and this is my first time posting fanfic on this forum, so I hope I’m not stepping on any toes or breaking any rules. :slight_smile:

This vignette is basically a “teaser” for a bigger story arc, but how much of that will actually get written, who knows. Oh, and I know I’ve got Muntz too old, according to some threads on the Up forum, but I needed him this age for my overall timeline, so… there he is.

EDITED 2/28/10 - Trying to get back into writing mode… I’ve made a couple of tiny fixes to this one, but most importantly, I’ve rethought my timeline. I’ve now got Muntz at 25 at the time of the Newsreel, which meant changing the date on the photo. I’m also making one eentsy-weentsy change to “Cut” (something that just started bugging me), and I have every intention of doing a major re-write to “Late.” Anyway, changes to “Back” are minimal, but here’s the revised version.

Back

Carl’s hand was clammy as he gripped the handle and opened the door. He and Russell had been through most of the Spirit of Adventure by now, but Carl had kept putting off this room, until it was the last unexplored space.

It was just as he remembered it from the photos in Life Magazine – the December, 1933, issue in which C. F. Muntz had been named “Man of the Year.” The furniture rivaled that of the most glamorous Hollywood mansions of the era: Art Deco masterworks in a glossy burl walnut, with ebony trim, and aluminum banding around the bases. The dressing chest and bedside tables boasted deeply veined black marble tops. Italian. The word flashed through Carl’s mind – how on earth had he remembered that? The furniture was Italian. The bed was enormous, with a curved headboard emblazoned with the winged “M” logo in aluminum trim. Carl wondered if Muntz had ever found it too big. His own, modest bed had seemed so vast and vacant without Ellie, he couldn’t imagine sleeping alone in this monstrosity.