Does Charles Muntz die ?!?! *Major Spoiler*

Hey, newbie here! This is my first post here :smiley:
So, I’ve always wondered . . . Muntz is my FAVORITE Pixar villian. He pulls off evil so well! The greatest thing about him is the fact that he’s not truly evil, he’s just driven crazy from being banned from the explorer club, humiliated to the world by being declared a fraud, and spending decades searching for Kevin to prove himself an honest man. I can’t believe they killed him. . . or did they??
Point #1, he had 4 balloons tied to his feet. And remember! Balloons in the “Up World” had alot of lifting power. They are nothing like what we have. A small bunch of balloons lifted Carl’s stand and a ridiculously small amount of ballons held Russell up with no problem. So Muntz’s fall was lightened quite a bit. Point #2, He was over the sea. Well, I guess the sea there is INFESTED with Pirahnas and Crocodiles and Bruce like sharks (Finding Nemo) !! But still, water is better than land!!
I just wish he lived!! He could’ve come back to avenge his ship and dogs and capture the Kevin and the babies who are older. Up 2 would be awesome!!![/i]

I can’t remember the last time we’ve had a topic about Up here (quite a change from the usual talk about Toy Story 3 and Thinkway Toys). I didn’t really know if he died or not when I saw the film, but I also thought of Point #1 for if he did survive.

He died. Originally, the balloons were going to make him float up instead of down, but they changed it because it seemed too uncertain. At the speed he was falling, there was almost no way he could’ve survived.

Bummer big time :cry:
He was the deepest character in any Pixar movie. He was evil and intimidating but wasn’t trying to be. Syndrome annoyed me the way he was so arrogant and gloated about how evil he was. Muntz didn’t want to be evil, he just wanted to salvage what he could of his reputation “back state-side” by catching Kevin.