Pixar Planet

Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

This is the place to talk about the studio as well as the people and software behind it. Show off your knowledge and learn about news from the Emeryville headquarters including everything from Renderman to the Brain Trust to The Holy Trinity of Pixar.

Moderators: Pixar Planet Moderators, The Brain Trust

Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby emergencyexit42 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:53 am

I've did some research because I was planning on using Maya to make the Toy Story characters and sets. I heard that Maya is similar to Marionette. When I was in the movies watching Toy Story 3, I kept thinking about Marionette and the amazing animation Marionette could do to make TS3.

I even heard that Toy Story 1 might've used Maya but I thought at first that ALL of Pixar's shorts and movies were made in Marionette but then it dawned on me that Pixar's older movies and shorts used Maya while their newer movies and shorts used Marionette...

Hmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!

Marionette Vs. Maya... let the comparison battle... BEGIN!
Wood-E
emergencyexit42
Shark Bait
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 9:57 pm

Postby CartoonBoy » Fri Oct 15, 2010 2:52 am

Some studios have proprietary software like Pixar. ALL of them use Maya. And the "incredible Animation" in any of Pixar films has nothing to do with the software. Every other studio is making films that have as much technical prowess--just none of the story saavy.

Don't get caught up in a silly debate like this. Just learn to draw.
CartoonBoy
Shark Bait
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:19 am

Postby Bryko614 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:52 am

I was at a TS3 panel and they said that they do use some Maya. Maya didn't exist when the first Toy Story came out, so that's when they developed Marionette. But, as CartoonBoy said, the software has nothing to do with the quality of the film. Any software can make good animation in the hands of a skilled person.
Image
User avatar
Bryko614
Upcoming Pixar • Chief Writer
 
Posts: 2392
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:12 pm
Location: A 45 hour drive from Pixar

Postby Kyr » Tue Oct 19, 2010 5:58 pm

Marionette and Maya are not exactly the same, feature-wise. That is, one's not a direct replacement for the other.

I would say the models are (mostly) created in Maya, and (mostly) animated in Marionette.
Kyr
Shark Bait
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:55 pm

Postby dpk » Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:18 am

I don't think we are allowed to talk about Marionette outside of Pixar, but if you do your research, you can find some discussions about it on the internet. (Hint: It may be called differently...)

But yeah, even though it's probably user-friendlier for animators than any other tool I've seen, it's still the animators who make the movies, not the software. So just use anything you're comfortable with. People have achieved amazing things with any software.
dpk
Ant
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:49 am
Location: emeryville, ca

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby RobertHoover » Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:41 pm

That's good question in the community about Pixar. As you know, there are many priority software in the online market but user are satisfied wit Pixar and it's latest features and now I'm able to write my essay in order to manage the task. Thank you!
RobertHoover
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:27 pm

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby AidanCorfield » Wed May 20, 2020 6:25 am

itechrock.net is a technology website that provides its users with Apps, gadget news, previews, Apps for PC, and much more. Joox Music for PC lets you to listen free music streams and live music. Free download joox for PC download on Windows 10/8.1/8/7/xp/vista & Mac.
AidanCorfield
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 6:23 am

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby ArcherRansom » Wed May 27, 2020 8:47 pm

Are you looking for hotstar then you can hotstar app for PC download or windows laptop then check out this tutorial on how to download and install hotstar and watch movies and tv shows for free on Hotstar App. It is one of the leading telecast apps in the app stores which is used to watch your favourite online content
ArcherRansom
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 8:45 pm

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby Havi » Sat Mar 13, 2021 2:33 am

Havi
Garbage Boy
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 2:03 pm

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby csxcrewlifecsc » Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:46 am

For his component, Jim Foote, President and CEO of CSX stated, “This new service, which responds to a need expressed by means of our clients, csxcrewlife.vip puts us in a robust role to gain a market percentage of avenue transportation and will increase the capability of those rapid lanes, as large box ships arrive on the Port of Philadelphia, the Port of New York and New Jersey.
csxcrewlifecsc
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:44 am

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby MargrettPa » Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:10 pm

vente valium achat valium 10mg acheter diazepam
MargrettPa
Super Hero
 
Posts: 245232
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:42 pm

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby MargrettPa » Sun Apr 11, 2021 6:21 pm

acheter valium 10mg sans ordonnance valium prix achat valium belgique
MargrettPa
Super Hero
 
Posts: 245232
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:42 pm

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby MargrettPa » Sun Apr 11, 2021 6:23 pm

achat de temesta en ligne prix lorazepam belgique acheter temesta
MargrettPa
Super Hero
 
Posts: 245232
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:42 pm

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby MargrettPa » Sun Apr 11, 2021 7:09 pm

valium pas cher valium en vente libre valium drogue prix
MargrettPa
Super Hero
 
Posts: 245232
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:42 pm

Re: Is it true that Pixar has also been using Autodesk Maya?

Postby CristalNa » Sun Apr 11, 2021 7:12 pm

imovane prix france acheter du zopiclone sans ordonnance zopiclone sur ordonnance securisee
CristalNa
Super Hero
 
Posts: 166208
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 6:56 am

Next

Return to The Pixar Studio & People

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest