Pixar Internships & Residents 2012/2013

You might be thinking it’s a little early for this, but the Winter term deadline will be here in less than a month. And if you aren’t applying for that, you should be working on your demo reel for the Summer term deadline.

Anyone applying for the Winter term or are you all gunning for the Summer term?

I applied for Production Intern for the Winter. Unfortunately, I didn’t see this job opening until the last minute so I had to get a resume and cover letter together quick. Luckily, I got it in the morning of deadline. I doubt I’ll be looked at though. I’m majoring in Computer Science, not Film, even though I’d rather work in film…

i’m gonna be applying for the Camera & Staging residency starting next summer. I have nothing ready so far except for an idea for a short that I plan to complete by the deadline.

Do you guys know what they’re looking for for this position? I’m hoping on eventually making it in the story department, so I was planning on writing and directing, but also working really closely with the cinematographer and the editor to showcase my versatility. Would this be a good idea?

Also how many interns do they actually take in for this department? Everything else is computer stuff, and while I’m pretty good with computers I’ve no background in programming or 3d animation so i’m just wondering how fierce the competition’s going to be for the camera positions.

I would love to have a project manager internship position this summer. I am studying at University of Michigan College of Engineering and it has been my dream to work with pixar for a few years now. When should I expect to find out if I will be moving on in the application process? Please get back to me and thank you.

I think I caught a couple demo reels for this internship on vimeo earlier this year. I would check those out, then see if that person actually got in. Then at least you now have a standard to work to or work beyond.